Wednesday, June 3, 2009

Award for New Writers - Winners and Short Lists: 2005- Present

About This Award:

The Orange Broadband Award for New Writers is open to all first works of fiction written by women of any age or nationality and published in the UK between 1 April of the year before the prize is awarded and 31 March of the year in which the prize is awarded. Emphasis is on potential and emerging talent.

Short story collections and novellas are also eligible.


The Boy Next Door, by Irene Sabatini - WINNER
The Book of Fires, by Jane Borodale
After the Fire, A Still Small Voice, by Evie Wyld


An Equal Stillness, by Francesca Kay - WINNER
Miles From Nowhere, by Nami Mun
The Personal History of Rachel DuPree, by Ann Weisgarber


Inglorious, by Joanna Kavenna - WINNER
The Monsters of Templeton, by Lauren Groff
The Voluptuous Delights of Peanut Butter and Jam, by Lauren Liebenberg


The Lizard Cage, by Karen Connelly - WINNER
Poppy Shakespeare, by Clare Allan
Bitter Sweets, by Roopa Farooki


Disobedience, by Naomi Alderman - WINNER
A Thousand Years of Good Prayers, by Yiyun Li
The Dream Life of Sukhanov, by Olga Grushin


26a, by Diana Evans - WINNER
Lucky Girls, by Nell Freudenberger
How I Live Now, by Meg Rosoff

No comments: